RyanAir denied flight to Alicante 17th May - Flights, baggage and airports in Gran Alacant - Gran Alacant forum - Costa Blanca forum in the Alicante province of Spain
Cosmetologist
Protea Wellness
Gran Alacant Insurances
Harmony FM
ASSSA Insurance
VIP Design
Jennifer Cunningham Insurances SL
Just One Small Step - Counselling
Expat Services
PC Services
South East Costa Removals
Advisors Costa Blanca
interior building work
AA Free English TV
OTH Transport
DC Property Management Rental Sales and Legal Car Hire
Torrevieja Property Services

Join the Gran Alacant forum

Join the Gran Alacant forumMy name's Alex and this is my website all about Gran Alacant in Spain. Register now for free to talk about Flights, baggage and airports in Gran Alacant and much more!

RyanAir denied flight to Alicante 17th May

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:38pm
3 replies246 views4 members subscribed
krystal1968

Posts: 19

4 helpful points

Location: Gran Alacant

Joined: 1 May 2018

Got to the airport for RyanAir flight to Alicante 17th May. 4am in the morning!! Did not want to use them but Jet2 had cancelled our flight & refunded. Not for a holiday but to complete with the notary on 21st May regarding the house sale. Had every kind of document plus NIE/ PADRON  PCR/   SPTH but not a TIE !! & a UK national passport as they call it now. Taken 4 years to sell the place & of all times it happened in Covid that we sold it.

RyanAir special official at check in with no compassion said NO you are not flying because at arrival in Alicante they  will look at your passport & send you back. I said I have every type of ID to prove my business trip but it was a nasty NO again. Did I have a TIE she said..No I replied I am trying to get away from Spain not join it. Can I have a refund on the flights NO the special official replied. She loved her job!!

I had spent many weeks double checking on the FCDO website as to reason's for travel & we were ok. So back home we went, car parking at the airport was used for 1/2 hr instead of 12 days £100 can't get a refund. Car hire at Alicante can't get a refund  PCR tests used no refund. PCR tests on return home unopened.

After 18 years in Gran Alacant I have wonderful memories so these I will cherish. The estate agent called AT HOME were wonderful especially Mar as she cleared out our house of all the personal items of which all went to an animal charity.

Thank goodness we had arranged a POA just in case we caught covid. A very expensive trip that was a NO NO NO thanks to RYANAIR & their rules. We have heard we were not the only ones denied boarding!!

Kimmy11

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:15pm

Kimmy11

Legendary helpful member

Posts: 3685

7441 helpful points

Joined: 8 Aug 2017

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:15pm

Hi Krystal,

I'm sorry to hear of your experience.  The UK government didn't help this issue by publishing on the Gov.UK website that people could travel for the purpose of "Selling, buying and renting property", without checking whether Spain accepted that as a reason for entry.  The UK removed the incorrect information within 24 hours, but not before others had already booked their flights, hire car and tests too.

At least it didn't frustrate your sale and I'm glad to hear that your memories of Gran Alacant are what you're now focusing on.

I haven't heard of AT HOME agents - are they based in Gran Alacant?  It's always helpful for members to receive personal feedback about companies and services.

Many thanks and kind regards, 

Kim

GordonH605

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:31pm

GordonH605

Helpful member

Posts: 145

124 helpful points

Location: Finestrat

Joined: 1 Jan 2021

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:31pm

I agree with Kim.  This was UK and Spanish government rules that Ryanair was enforcing, not their own. I believe they would have been heavily fined if they delivered you to Alicante and you were then refused entry.

krystal1968

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:47pm

krystal1968

Original Poster

Posts: 19

4 helpful points

Location: Gran Alacant

Joined: 1 May 2018

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:47pm

Kimmy11 wrote on Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:15pm:

Hi Krystal,

I'm sorry to hear of your experience.  The UK government didn't help this issue by publishing on the Gov.UK website that people could travel for the purpose of "Selling, buying and renting property", without checking whether Spain accepted that as a reason for entry.  The UK removed the...

... incorrect information within 24 hours, but not before others had already booked their flights, hire car and tests too.

At least it didn't frustrate your sale and I'm glad to hear that your memories of Gran Alacant are what you're now focusing on.

I haven't heard of AT HOME agents - are they based in Gran Alacant?  It's always helpful for members to receive personal feedback about companies and services.

Many thanks and kind regards, 

Kim

Hi Kim The estate agent AT HOME is along the parade of shops in front of Sueno Azul. Thank you for your kind words I will miss Gran Alacant but it was the right time of life to move on.

Sign up for free or login to reply to this topic

Want to reply to this topic? Login or register for free to post your message:

Find more Flights topics from a particular area:


Register for free!

Login to your account

Jennifer Cunningham Insurances SL
Gran Alacant Insurances
Cosmetologist
DC Property Management Rental Sales and Legal Car Hire
ASSSA Insurance
Advisors Costa Blanca
OTH Transport
Protea Wellness
AA Free English TV
Expat Services
interior building work
VIP Design
Just One Small Step - Counselling
PC Services
Torrevieja Property Services
South East Costa Removals
Harmony FM
Advertise your business here
Advertise your property
Help with my computer